Watching media on Playstation 3

My internal network architecture has a main server with a lot of my movies etc backed up onto, from my extensive DVD library. Previously I played these from the server itself, but keeping HDMI (+Audio), etc working proved to be a pain.

I tried watching the files from my XBox360, using Windows Media Server, but unfortunately I’ve used assorted new formats for the DVD backups (e.g. MKV) which Windows Media Server doesn’t support.

After casting around for alternatives, I found the PS3 Media Server (http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com/). This fantastic little utility transcodes and presents a DLNA compliant UPnP interface to your network. This works on my PS3 very very well, and may work on others.

The only pain point I experienced was setting up the (java) program to run nicely on my linux box. So I knocked up the below, completely abusing ‘screen’ as an aside.

#!/sbin/runscript

depend() {
        need net
}

start() {
        ebegin "Starting PS3 Media Server"
        pushd /usr/local/pms-linux-1.10.5 > /dev/null
        /usr/bin/screen -d -m -S PMS ./PMS.sh
        eend $?
        popd > /dev/null
}

stop() {
        ebegin "Stopping PS3 Media Server"
        /usr/bin/screen -r PMS -X quit
        eend $?
}
Leave a Reply

